WWW Wednesday – 2018/08/29

www_wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a book meme run by Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading

Hellboy Bones Of GiantsLast night I started reading Hellboy: The Bones of Giants by Christopher Golden and Mike Mignola, though I haven’t read further than the prologue so far. There’s something about the cover and the title that’s always given me a good feeling about this book (not the most reliable impulse) and this has been emboldened by the brief introduction in which Mignola states his belief that this book surpasses the previous novel, which he believes to have been great too. He’s probably just a little biased, but I’m looking forward to getting into it all the same. Gods have only occasionally been touched upon in Hellboy stories in the past so I’m especially curious to see how this incorporates the Norse pantheon.


Recently Finished

The Princess BrideOver the weekend I finished reading The Princess Bride by William Goldman. Check out my review here! I ended up liking this book quite a lot. The characters were excellent, it balanced some complex themes with fairy tale ideals rather well, and played with the medium in unexpected ways. It’s now no wonder to me that it’s considered such a classic. Inigo and Fezzik especially stole the show for me. They have a great dynamic together. I only wish there were more story. My edition included the first chapter of the “sequel” called Buttercup’s Baby, and it literally ends with a massive cliffhanger. Goldman sure is a cheeky fellow.

The Gunslinger BornI also started and finished reading The Gunslinger Born by Peter David et al, which is the first in the comic book adaptations of The Dark Tower series by Stephen King. While I think later volumes will cover details about Roland’s past that we have not seen before, this book specifically adapted his becoming a gunslinger from The Gunslinger and the story from Wizard & Glass when he fell in love with Susan Delgado. It was a pretty faithful adaptation, though I prefer the novel for how in-depth it goes. This felt a little bit like reading the cliff notes. I did however like getting a good visual look at the Crimson King and Walter, whose forms are often nebulously described in the books.


Reading Next

AftermathLifeDebtThe Bones of Giants should not take me too long, so once I finish that I’m going to get started on Aftermath: Life Debt so I can continue with that trilogy of Star Wars books. I’m hoping things pick up a lot more plot-wise with that book now that origins and introductions are out of the way for the characters. It also hints at including some of the core characters from the films more, which I hope is the case (it’s got the Millennium Falcon on the cover, dang it!!).

Until next time, thank you for reading!

11 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 2018/08/29

    • I believe it is still ongoing too. They’re into the content of the actual novels now, but I’m more interested in them for the prequel stuff.

      • I’m sorry, which show? I know there’s been a lot of talk about it, but I haven’t heard about a Dark Tower TV series release date or anything yet.

      • Hahaha… Lols… I was talking about a show with someone else and I thought your comment was her response. We were talking about the ‘Strike’ TV show which was based on Roberth Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)’s book series called ‘Cormoran Strike’. 🙂

        Sorry for my mistake..

        Though Dark Tower was adapted in a movie, right? The one with Idris Elba. I enjoyed it so much. I think it was badass. 🙂

      • Ah, I see. No worries. Yeah, I liked the movie too, though I was a little baffled with how much of the story from across the whole series they decided to fit into one film.

      • I really haven’t read the series but I know how the story goes because it’s my bestfriend’s favorite series. And yeah, before watching it I thought, it’d be like part 1 and will some kind of a franchise but I’m not sure now. The film seemed done.

Leave a comment